

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 23, 2022

MEDIA CONTACT: Elise Bender media@iadr.org 703.299.8084

34 Dental Students and NIDCR-supported Trainees Receive AADOCR Bloc Travel Grant

Alexandria, VA – The American Association for Dental, Oral and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) announced the 2022 recipients of the AADOCR Bloc Travel Grant. The winners were recognized during the Opening Ceremonies of the hybrid 51st Annual Meeting of the AADOCR, held in conjunction with the 46th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR), on March 23, 2022.

AADOCR received funding from the National Institutes of Health – National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIH-NIDCR) (*Grant No. R13DE030343*) to support travel for dental students and NIDCR supported trainees to the AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition for presentation of scientific papers on dental research. Recipients were selected to receive funds based on the quality of the abstract selected for presentation.

AADOCR has received this grant since 1975 which has allowed over 900 dental students and NIDCR-supported trainees to present their research at the IADR General Session & Exhibition until 2021, when the grant was awarded for dental students and NIDCR-supported trainees to present research at the AADOCR Annual Meeting & Exhibition.

The 2022 grant recipients include:

- 1. Christian P. Ahearn, University at Buffalo, NY
- 2. Natalie Anselmi, University at Buffalo, NY
- 3. Kristina Astleford-Hopper, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
- 4. Frank A. Boksa, University of Iowa, Iowa City
- 5. Alanna Bram, University of Iowa, Iowa City
- 6. Veronica Camacho, Texas A&M University
- 7. Won Hee Cho, University of California, San Francisco
- 8. Kalie Dominick, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD
- 9. Steven Fredeen, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
- 10. Sean Thomas Ganther, University of California, San Francisco
- 11. Ryan Hackenberger, Midwestern University Downers Grove, Illinois
- 12. Conrad Harness, Texas A&M University
- 13. Luke Hovey, University of Iowa, Iowa City
- 14. Jai Eun Huh, University of California, San Francisco
- 15. Seung Jin Jang, University of Florida, Gainesville
- 16. Ryunhyung Jessica Kim, Columbia University, New York, NY

- 17. Youkyung Kim, New York University, NY
- 18. Austin Kim, Midwestern University Downers Grove, Illinois
- 19. Alisa Eunyoung Lee, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
- 20. Jaden Sophien Lee, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston
- 21. Elizabeth Leon, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, FL
- 22. Naeem Motlagh, University of Florida, Gainesville
- 23. Carolyn Nguyen, University of California, San Francisco
- 24. Josaranie Nieves-Santana, University of Puerto Rico, San Juan
- 25. Stanley Onuegbu, University of California, San Francisco
- 26. Soomin Park, Columbia University, New York, NY
- 27. Kazune Pax, The Ohio State University, Columbus
- 28. Sienna Kaelyn Perry, NIDCR, Bethesda, MD
- 29. Anwar Radwan, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
- 30. Samantha Rustia, University of California, San Francisco
- 31. Michelle Lee Scott, The Ohio State University, Columbus
- 32. Sydney Woods, University of Iowa, Iowa City
- 33. Jihee Yoon, University of California, San Francisco
- 34. Shao Yang Zhang, University of Iowa, Iowa City

About AADOCR

The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) is the leading professional community for multidisciplinary scientists who advance dental, oral, and craniofacial research. Previously the American Association for Dental Research, the 3,000-member organization connects the scientific community of professionals who champion research that contributes to overall health and well-being. Learn more at www.aadocr.org.