Press Releases

AADOCR Member Jennifer Webster-Cyriaque Elected to National Academy of Medicine

October 17, 2022, Alexandria, VA – The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) today announced the election of 90 regular members and ten international members during its annual meeting. Among those elected is AADOCR member Jennifer Webster-Cyriaque, Deputy Director, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR), and NIH Laboratory Chief, Viral Oral Infections in Immunosuppression and Cancer, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health; and Professor Emeritus, Departments of Dentistry and of Microbiology and Immunology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Webster-Cyriaque was recognized for making seminal contributions to our understanding of the role of virus-host interaction in oral disease. Most notably, she showed that oral Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) permissive infection was a lytic and transforming infection. 

Her paradigm-shifting work described oral Kaposi’s sarcoma herpesvirus (KSHV) replication and oral iatrogenic Kaposi’s development. In addition, she was recipient of the 2022 IADR Distinguished Scientist Award for Oral Medicine & Pathology Research.

“Huge congratulations go out to Dr. Webster-Cyriaque!” said AADOCR President Jane Weintraub. “It is a major achievement for any dental scientist to be elected to the Academy, and that it should be one of AADOCR’s most active members is a special honor.”

The National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. 

About IADR
The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 10,000 individual members worldwide, with a Mission to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being worldwide. The IADR’s position statement on community water fluoridation can be found here. To learn more, visit

The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) is a nonprofit organization with over 3,000 members in the United States with a mission to drive dental, oral, and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being. AADOCR is the largest division of the International Association for Dental Research which has over 10,000 members. To learn more visit