Press Releases

Barbara Boyan Named 2022 Recipient of AADOCR Distinguished Scientist Award

Alexandria, VA – The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) announced Barbara Boyan, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, as the 2022 recipient of the AADOCR Distinguished Scientist Award. Boyan was recognized during the Opening Ceremonies of the hybrid 51st Annual Meeting of the AADOCR, held in conjunction with the 46th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR), on March 23, 2022.

Boyan is the Alice T. and William H. Goodwin, Jr. Dean of Virginia Commonwealth University College of Engineering, is a nationally acclaimed researcher, and an entrepreneur. Her laboratory is focused on research in all aspects of bone and cartilage biology, from basic science studies on steroid hormone signaling to the use of cells for regenerative medicine strategies, focusing on how cells interact with biomaterial surfaces. Her work in the bone and cartilage field began with studies to understand the underlying mechanisms of mineralized tissue formation. Her recent research developments include novel technologies for controlling nanotexture on metal and polymer surfaces to study cell responses for regenerative medicine applications as well as elucidating the mechanisms used by steroid hormones like vitamin D and estrogen and microRNAs in the regulation of bone and cartilage cells.

A member since 1978, Boyan served as the 25th AADOCR President (1996-97). She has many honors and awards including being a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. In 2005, she received the Atlanta Woman Magazine Top Innovator in Science Award, she is a member of National Materials Advisory Board of the National Academies, and she is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In 1995, she won the Basic Research in Biologic Biomineralization Award from the IADR. She is the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame 1988-1989 Honoree in Science and Technology and in 1987-1988 she earned a Lifetime Honorary Member Achievement Award from the Alpha Omega International Dental Fraternity.

The AADOCR Distinguished Scientist Award, presented at the AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting, recognizes and honors outstanding research of particular significance in any of the fields related to oral science. The award, supported by GlaxoSmithKline, consists of a monetary prize of $5,000, an award plaque, and travel expenses to the AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting.

View a PDF for this press release online.

The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) is a nonprofit organization with over 3,000 members in the United States with a mission to drive dental, oral, and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being. AADOCR is the largest division of the International Association for Dental Research which has over 10,000 members. Learn more at