Press Releases

Jeffrey Ebersole, Sharon Grayden and Stephen Bayne Named 2021 Recipients of the AADR Presidential Citation

Alexandria, Va., USA – The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) announced Jeffrey Ebersole, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Sharon Grayden and Stephen Bayne as the 2021 recipients of the AADR Presidential Citation. Ebersole, Grayden and Bayne were recognized during the Opening Ceremonies of the virtual 50th Annual Meeting of the AADR, held in conjunction with the 99th General Session & Exhibition of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) and the 45th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR), on July 21-24, 2021.

Ebersole is Interim Chair of Biomedical Sciences and Associate Dean for Research, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. An accomplished researcher, Ebersole leads multiple studies focused on the immunobiology of oral infections, emphasizing in vitro and in vivo studies of host-pathogen interactions using animal and human models of oral disease(s). He has published over 300 publications, reviews and book chapters about the microbiology and immunology of oral diseases and directed a major Center of Biomedical Research Excellence grant from the National Institute of Health for 13 years. Ebersole is an AADR Fellow and served as the 40th AADR president (2011-12).

Grayden, now retired, was the Director of Communications at University of Michigan School of Dentistry, Ann Arbor. An AADR Fellow, Grayden has presented abstracts at AADR and IADR meetings and has organized or co-organized seven hands-on-workshops. She was one of the charter members of the IADR Education Research Group (IADR ERG) that was formed in 1997, she helped to solicit many of the early members and has served in every IADR ERG officer role in two-year rotations for a total of 10 years. Grayden continues to actively participate as Group Program Chair and mentor to the new leaders of the IADR ERG and has been a major supporter and participant in her local AADR Sections.

Bayne, now retired, is Professor Emeritus of Dentistry, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, is an AADR Fellow and served as the 28th AADR president (1999-2000) and the 83rd IADR president (2006-07). He has published over 30 book chapters and 100 journal articles and has been a principal investigator or co-investigator on numerous federally and industrially sponsored grants. A leader in clinical research in dentistry, Bayne has been acknowledged with many awards including the Ryge-Mahler Award for Clinical Research from the IADR Dental Materials Group and the 2011 IADR Wilmer Souder Award.

In 2016, Grayden and Bayne established the AADR Legacy Society. The AADR Legacy Society consists of individuals who have committed future assets, through estate and planned giving, to AADR, thereby ensuring support for future initiatives and growth of the Association.

The AADR Presidential Citation acknowledges an AADR member or members, including individual members, Corporate and Institutional Section members, who by the assessment of the AADR President, have made significant contributions to the Association over a period of time, shown dedication to the Association; and have helped to further the mission of the AADR through their service and commitment.

About the American Association for Dental Research

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 3,100 individual members in the United States, with a mission to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being. The AADR is the largest Division of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR). The AADR also manages the activities of FNIDCR. The AADR also manages the activities of FNIDCR. To learn more, visit