Press Releases

No-Hee Park Named 2022 Recipient of AADOCR Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award

Alexandria, VA – The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) announced No-Hee Park, University of California, Los Angeles, as the 2022 recipient of the AADOCR Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award. Park was recognized during the Opening Ceremonies of the hybrid 51st Annual Meeting of the AADOCR, held in conjunction with the 46th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR), on March 23, 2022.

Park is the Dean Emeritus and Distinguished Professor of the UCLA School of Dentistry. He is also the Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine. He received his D.D.S. and M.S.D. from Seoul National University, Korea, his Ph.D. from Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, and his D.M.D. from Harvard University, Cambridge, MA.

Park has over 200 scientific publications and has heavily contributed to the understanding of the mechanisms of oral cancer development. In the early stage of his career (1975-83), he was engaged in the development of animal models to evaluate the therapeutic efficacy of antiviral agents and the studies for understanding the molecular mechanisms of numerous antiviral agents (e.g., Acyclovir, Ganciclovir, etc.) against herpes simplex virus. Since 1983 he has investigated the mechanisms of human oral and head and neck cancer development. In addition to his interest in cellular aging and molecular carcinogenesis, Park has also been engaged in a research project investigating the molecular mechanisms of the development of atherosclerosis, a benign, but the most dangerous vascular wall cancer.

Park won the IADR Distinguished Scientist Award in Oral Medicine & Pathology Research in 2001. 

The AADOCR Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award provides national recognition for outstanding efforts to foster and promote research training and career development of students, trainees, and junior faculty. It identifies individuals at all levels of their career with an exemplary record of mentoring. This award was renamed in 2012 in honor of its first recipient, Irwin D. Mandel. The award consists of a monetary prize of $1,000 and a plaque.

View a PDF for this press release online.

The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) is a nonprofit organization with over 3,000 members in the United States with a mission to drive dental, oral, and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being. AADOCR is the largest division of the International Association for Dental Research which has over 10,000 members. Learn more at