AADOCR Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship

The Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship was created in recognition of Dr. Haffajee’s many contributions to clinical research in Periodontology and Oral Biology and her prominence as a female leader and role model in the field. The immediate goal of this fellowship is to support women researchers at the early stages of their scientific careers.

The long term objective of this fellowship is to increase the representation of women at the higher ranks in science and academia in the field of Oral Biology.


Award Prize/Recognition


Key Dates

Applications Open:

Jun 17, 2024

Applications Closed:

Oct 01, 2024

  • Women members of AADOCR
  • hold a DDS/DMD and/or Ph.D., or equivalent advanced degree
  • hold an appointment at the post-doctoral, instructor, assistant professor level or equivalent at an accredited dental school or academic research center in the United States

This fellowship is designed to support the academic and scientific development of female researchers towards an independent research career. Recipients will receive up to $10,000 that must be put towards their post-doctoral research, establishment of their laboratories, the completion of a research project or preparing research for publication or grant submission. The awards may be used for protected time from clinical teaching or administrative responsibilities to pursue such work. Funds awarded could also be used for additional laboratory assistance. As part of the terms of the fellowship, the award recipient must submit a report within 12 months of receipt of the award which describes the results of the progress achieved as a result of the fellowship.

Supported by

This Fellowship is supported by generous donations from individuals and companies which created the endowment.

AnneHaffajeeFellowshipYong-Hee Chun

It is an incredible honor for me to be the 1st recipient. I used this Fellowship to provide opportunities for periodontic residents and to generate pilot data to transform my research.

Yong-Hee Patricia Chun

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, US; 2017 Recipient.

2024 Recipient

Chenshuang Li

University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia    

Chenshuang Li, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Questions about this award?

Beatrice Nguyen

Awards, Fellowships and Grants Coordinator

Email me