History of the NSRG

The National Student Research Group (NSRG), a Group of the AADOCR, had its origins in 1980. The President of the AADOCR at that time, Dr. Irwin D. Mandel, is generally considered the “father” of the NSRG. Recognizing the potential of dental students as future research investigators, the AADOCR Membership Committee, under the chairmanship of Dr. Ralph Kaslick, targeted students for membership in the AADOCR. In addition, the Committee identified faculty advisors at each US dental school and set up programs for students, including the AADOCR Student Research Fellowship Program.


Starting in 1980, with only a handful of students meeting at the AADOCR General Session, the NSRG has continued to grow throughout the decade to about 1200 members at present. From 1980 through 1984, the National Student Research Group was a rather small, loosely run organization involving a small core of students who organized yearly meetings and a slightly larger group who attended the meetings. However, beginning with the 1985 annual meeting, several changes in the NSRG were initiated. In 1986, a Constitution and Bylaws were approved, and in the following year a mail ballot voting procedure was developed, both for amendment of the constitution and for election of officers.

Karl Zimmerman of Louisiana State University (NSRG President for 1985-86) instituted the annual Caulk/Dentsply Student Research Awards. This competition grew through the years and included six awards worth a total of $2500 by the time it was discontinued in 2017.

Since 1985, membership in the SRG has grown markedly. The number of SRG Chapters and the activity of existing Chapters have continued to increase. In 1988, geographic SRG regions were established to promote student research activity through regional interaction.

The NSRG is now recognized as one of the strongest groups in the AADOCR. The student members now have a voice in the AADOCR because, as of 2007, the NSRG President serves on the AADOCR Board of Directors as a full voting member. In 2015 a second student representative was added to the AADOCR Board of Directors and is filled by the NSRG President Elect.

The NSRG celebrated their 30th anniversary and recognized the past three decades of student research and achievements during the 2012 AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Tampa, Florida.

NSRG Past Presidents


1982Phil MaruchaUniversity of Connecticut
1983Ron HathawayUniversity of Iowa
1984Tim WelchUniversity of Missouri, Kansas City
1985Karl ZimmermanLouisiana State University
1986Debbie MendelThe Ohio State University
1987Leslie WinstonUniversity of Iowa
1988Leslie SpradlinUniversity of Louisville
1989Laurie L. McKendryState University of New York
1990James C. DouthittBaylor College of Dentistry
1991Jay M. OltjenUniversity of Texas HSC, San Antonio
1992Nancy A. MontgomeryThe Ohio State University
1993Juli Szaniszlo PowellUniversity of Texas HSC, San Antonio
1994Juan Carlos QuinteroUniversity of Pittsburgh
1995Gregory D. EvansUniversity of Iowa
1996Jane RossUniversity of Kentucky
1997Marguerite GrossmanNew York University
1998N. Nicholas SalomeUniversity of Texas HSC, San Antonio
1999Pamela ClarkUniversity of Texas HSC, Houston
2000Christopher FreemanUniversity of Kentucky
2001Armin AbronUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2002T. Chris BurkeUniversity of Tennessee
2003Erik Kern HarringtonBaylor College of Dentistry
2004Peter ChoUniversity of Iowa
2005Julia A. JavaroneUniversity of Texas, HSC, Houston
2006Erin L. EalbaUniversity of Michigan
2007James M. RogérMarquette University/University of Rochester
2008Kirsten J. RittenbachUniversity of California, San Francisco
2009Nathaniel C. LawsonUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2010Blake M. WarnerThe Ohio State University
2011Kaitrin K. BaloueUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
2012Angela GullardUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2013Joshua EmrickUniversity of California, San Francisco
2014Molly HagueUniversity of California, San Francisco
2015Mitra AdhamiUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2016Minerva LoiUniversity of California, San Francisco
2017Kendra N. ClarkUniversity of Mississippi
2018Nicholas RodriguezUniversity of Texas at Houston
2019Tanner GodfreyUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2020Natalie AtyeoUniversity of Florida
2021Alexandra HerzogUniversity of Michigan
2022Kazune PaxOhio State University
2023James Seung Jin JangUniversity of Florida